NFL Class of 2014 Enshrinement Ceremony

The 108 modern-day nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2016 announced Wednesday night and among them are Brett Favre, Terrell Owens, and the most controversial, Darren Sharper.

Favre the NFL’s career leader in nearly every passing category when he retired after the 2010 season and winner of the 1997 Super Bowl with Green Bay, Favre leads a strong list of first-time nominees.

That group includes Terrell Owens, one of the league’s most prolific and dynamic receivers for most of his 15 pro seasons, and Alan Faneca, an elite blocker who made six All-Pro teams at guard in his 13 seasons.

Other first-year-eligible nominees are safety Lawyer Milloy; running backs Brian Westbrook and Clinton Portis; place-kicker John Carney; and linebackers Keith Bulluck and Mike Vrabel.

Also among the list is convicted rapist, Darren Sharper.  The hall has no morals clauses when it comes to who can be nominated or elected. The bylaws specifically spell out that electors should consider only what happens on the field and Sharper certainly qualifies in that aspect.

Sharper retired from the Saints in 2010 as the the seventh-leading interceptor in NFL history with 63. He was a three-time Pro Bowler and twice was named first-team All-Pro, including 2009 when he helped lead the Saints to their first title in Super Bowl XLIV.

Of course he won’t get in though.  It would be a huge PR nightmare for the Hall and his speech would have to be given from a jail cell…

Shay Marie: Twitter || Instagram

source: ESPN