Facebook took to their site to get in on the New Years fun, their way. Personalized messages to your friends, or loved ones that will deliver at 12 on the dot! No cell phone service struggle, or message delays to worry over. There was a minor issue all though that might have let the cat out of the bag early for a few Facebook users.
Aberystwyth University student Jack Jenkins found that after sending a special message, you were able to tweak the URL. This would then allow you to erase & change strangers messages. Simply typing in their name or display username in place of your own would give you access to their personal messages. Just not the security measures you would expect from a social giant like Facebook. After realizing the issue, Facebook disabled and properly reactivated the feature readily available for use at Midnight.