“We’re making it clear that there are consequences for their actions,” president Barak Obama announced in the White House after the massive vote in Crimea to separate themselves from the Ukraine and join Russian officials.
Although the citizen’s vote is an announcement that Crimea is now known as an individual state, Obama states that the U.S. will not recognize the change. He’s since announced expanded sanctions to “increase the costs” on those responsible for the stand-off as well as banned certain Moscow individuals from entering the states.
Check out the jump for more details.

JaaiR (JR)

“We have fashioned these sanctions to impose costs on named individuals who wield influence in the Russian government and those responsible for the deteriorating situation in Ukraine,” the White House said in a statement. “We stand ready to use these authorities in a direct and targeted fashion as events warrant.”

The expanded U.S. sanctions would target the assets, and bar Russian officials, including Russian President Vladimir Putin aides Vladislav Surkov and Sergey Glazyev from entering the U.S.
The listed Russians sanctioned includes 21 individuals all together, who were linked to the push for the secession of Ukraine’s strategic Black Sea peninsula.

Western allies are calling on Putin to “de-escalate” the crisis, support Ukrainian plans for political reform, return Russian troops in Crimea to their barracks and halt advances into Ukraine and military buildups along its borders.